Monday, July 9, 2012

Big Boppers

The Home Run Derby is only about an hour away.  I'll probably be in dreamland when it starts.  Such is the life of a night shift worker.  I'm glad the Rangers don't have anyone participating.  They need to rest for the second half push and you know the Angels are hot on their tails.

Here you have the winners of the last 5 Home Run Derbys.

2011--Robinson Cano.  Hit hit a total of 32 bombs, including 12 in the final round, to defeat Adrian Gonzalez.

2010--David Ortiz.  He hit 32 homers, with 12 in the final round being enough to beat Hanley Ramirez.

2009--Prince Fielder.  Fielder hit a total of 23 home runs and only needed 6 to beat Nelson Cruz in the final round.

2008--Justin Morneau.  Morneu's total of 22 was outdone by Josh Hamilton's total of 35, but 28 of Hamilton's came in round 1 and Morneau won the final round 5-3.

2007--Vladimir Guerrero.  Vlad's total of 17 is low by today's standards and it only took 3 in the final round to beat Alex Rios.

The home run totals have gotten higher and higher each year.  I wonder how many the winner will hit this year.

Your contestants for 2012 are:
Jose Bautista
Carlos Beltran
Robinson Cano
Prince Fielder
Carlos Gonzalez
Matt Kemp
Andrew McCutcheon
Mark Trumbo

My money is on Cano to repeat, but I hope Trumbo lasts until the final round.  Speaking of hope, I hope Matt Kemp isn't making a mistake by entering the Derby.

So, who's going to win?

By the way, if by some miracle you haven't seen it another blog, go check out Plaschke's hunt to win a Sandy Koufax auto from some magazine that I wrote about the other day.  He needs your vote!